Monday, November 10, 2008

Rae Lynn Job resigns, search begins 11/12

As if we aren't outnumbered enough in the state legislature. This release comes from Bill Luckett, director of the Wyoming Democratic Party:

Democratic state Sen. Rae Lynn Job of Rock Springs resigned her position in the Legislature on Thursday, Nov. 6, requiring the Democratic Party to begin the process of selecting a replacement to fill the vacant seat for the remainder of her term.

Sweetwater County Democratic Party Chair Joyce Jansa Corcoran announced today that the Democratic precinct committeemen and committeewomen of Senate District 12 will meet Wednesday, Nov. 12, at 7 p.m. at White Mountain Library in Rock Springs to interview those interested in filling the Senate seat.

Senate District 12 includes roughly the eastern two thirds of Sweetwater County, including part of Rock Springs, as well as the Atlantic City precinct in Fremont County.

The process for filling a legislative vacancy is governed by the Wyoming State Statutes and the bylaws of the Wyoming Democratic Party.

The rules require the precinct committee members of the Senate district to meet and select three finalists for the position within 15 days of Sen. Job's resignation. But, the party plans to hold the meeting this Wednesday.

State party bylaws state that any registered Democrat who lives in Senate District 12 who wants to be considered for the position must either appear in person at the meeting or send a written statement of intent. At the meeting, each candidate will be given the opportunity to present their qualifications and may be questioned by those present.

After all the candidates speak and answer questions, the precinct committee members vote by signed ballot to choose the three finalists. Those finalists' names will be submitted to the county commissioners in both Sweetwater and Fremont counties. Then, the respective county commissions will have five days to meet and vote to appoint one of the finalists to fill the Senate vacancy.

The county commissioners' votes will be weighted by the population of the portion of the Senate District that is in each county, using numbers from the 2000 U.S. Census.

Contact: Joyce Jansa Corcoran, Sweetwater County Democratic Party Chair, 307-371-1633, 307-362-5301; Bill Luckett, 307-631-7638.

No comments: